climbing:hand

.flickr-photo { border: solid 2px #000000; }.flickr-yourcomment { }.flickr-frame { text-align: left; padding: 3px; }.flickr-caption { font-size: 0.8em; margin-top: 0px; }


climbing:hand, originally uploaded by monkey_pushover_tree.

My right hand after climbing tonight. The blisters are coming out nicely. Tonight wasn’t the most successful night of climbing; I pretty much fell of every route. If you look at it that way, it really wasn’t a good night. The other way to look at it is to look at the routes I was climbing. They were at my technical limit. What is this limit then? Well its not pure strength, I have that and can get away with pull myself up here and there. The problem I have is that I can’t do the balancy stuff. That’s where I struggle over and over again. Its where you have to shift your balance in such a way that you can keep all your weight being held on with your hand or a foot then move to the next hold… sounds simple.. its not. Both my hands hurt sooo much from crimping holds. If anything I’m probably overdoing it to compensate the balancing issue. I’ll get there; a few weeks ago I was struggling with different issues, so with a bit of practice I’ll overcome this…

Weaknesses to work on:
1 – balancy climbs
2 – finger strength
3 – understanding climbing holds and how to hold them
4 – climbing stamina
5 – physical weight

These I think are my top 5 issues at the moment.

Goals? Climb better than Rob… well at least catch up to his level!

~ by monkeypushovertree on January 24, 2007.

One Response to “climbing:hand”

  1. don’t forget goal #6:

    have fun!

Leave a Reply

 
