asian:elephant

.flickr-photo { border: solid 2px #000000; }.flickr-yourcomment { }.flickr-frame { text-align: left; padding: 3px; }.flickr-caption { font-size: 0.8em; margin-top: 0px; }


asian:elephant, originally uploaded by monkey_pushover_tree.

I bought a new lens a couple of weeks back and only got to use it last week. It’s this one, the canon 400mm 5.6L. I have to say it’s great to finally have a “L” lens. The downside of it is that it heavy on the 350D and balance is hard. So… to help with it I’ve also got a monopod. Plus, it has no IS so it’s fast shutter speeds or holding yourself very still. Good practice for me I think. But man it’s sharp, plus the speed of it focusing is great. All in all I’m really happy with this.

But where to test it out? Where better than the zoo I thought? And I have to say, it’s a great place for it.

Of course wondering around with a large lens and a monopod, you get some really really strange looks. The other thing I noticed is that people kept apologizing to me for walking into my shot. To be honest, with such a long focal length that didn’t really happen. Still it’s strange to have it happen

I spent a lot of time with the monkeys. They still look sad being where they are, but not as sad as the kodiak bears. They really did look depressed and not happy to be there.

The hardest thing I find seeing are the zebras, giraffes and elephants. Mainly as I’ve seen these animals in the wild. After seeing them on the plains, it’s hard to see them in such a small area. Okay, I haven’t seen Asian Elephants in the wild, but I’ve seen African Elephants so I think it’s kind of the same thing.

I have to say, I still like the African Elephants over the Asian ones. I much prefer the large majestic nature of the African ones. The Asian ones appear soo small in comparison. Still they were good to see.

You can see the other shots from this lens here.

~ by monkeypushovertree on November 3, 2007.

One Response to “asian:elephant”

  1. Sharp

Leave a Reply

 
