Film Development

film developmentFilm. Yeah film. Man I love the stuff. To me there is something about it; the smell, the feel, the process, the “not knowing” what you are going to get. Maybe it’s the calculations of how long it should be developed, the poring out of liquids, taking the temp.  It reminds me of chemistry lessons; of trying to understand what is going on (and not blow something up at the same time).  Then it’s that 8-10 minutes of turning over the tan; the start of the process.  The countdown begins.   It’s too late now to stop you can’t reverse the process it; you just have to hope you have everything just right.  You’re not going to know for the next 20 minutes anyway.

Then there is always that moment of feeling I’ve screwed something up when I’m developing something.  When you pull out the roll from the tank the film always looks black, like nothings on it.  Every time I sit there and think sh*t what have I done now?  Was it the developer? was it the fixer?  Did I not develop it for long enough?  Of course you have to wait until you’ve finished washing the film.  Then there is that moment of satisfaction; there is something on the film.

It’s worked; the process works.  I still don’t know why this surprises me, I mean this procedure has been around for a long time.  I’m also one of the laziest people when it comes to developing film.   It can sit in the camera for months on end meaning  I can’t even remember when or what I took.  So there is that second surprise.  Sounds of me going “OoooOOh” can be heard from the bathroom when I see the negatives.  Then there is that anticipation of what it’s going to look like when it’s scanned; which means more waiting… still it’s worth though.

~ by monkeypushovertree on February 9, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
