fools:gold

fools:gold, originally uploaded by monkey_pushover_tree.

Ok… so Billy made a sister dish to the
fools gold loaf called the Fool’s Gold Stack. Now part of me when I saw that wanted to emulate it to the full and make a 13 layer stack, all 1900 odd calories of it. But I resisted and made a smaller version (yeah I know I’m weak). But there was a very good reason for this – peanut butter.

I’m not the biggest peanut butter fan. I don’t know why, but I’m just not. It’s one of those things that just never sits that well with me. I don’t mind it with chocolate though. Peanut butter and chocolate is a good thing in my mind. I remember as a kid getting chocolate and peanut butter in jar; it’s was a good thing to have on toast before school. And I love REESE’S PIECES, but peanut butter on it’s own, not so gone on it. So why risk bacon and pancakes with peanut butter? The worst thing I could think of is that I waste the two other good things in the stack.

So I decided to make it. I knew I had the items for pancakes at home, and there is peanut butter in the fridge. So the only thing I needed was bacon. So off to IGA I went and was shocked. Ok, so Bacon is a cut of meat taken from the sides, belly, or back of a pig, then cured, smoked, or both. You would then expect a pork content on the ingredients and it was this that shocked me. There was values ranging from 74% to 90% 96% (Black and Gold is 96% pork; they didn’t have any of that yesterday). I mean it’s pork?? shouldn’t all of it be near 98% etc What the hell else is in 74% pork bacon?

It’s percent values like this that scare me. You think you are just buying pork, but oh no, there is 26% more other crap in there. Even when you get the 90% one, it’s still 10% other stuff in there. I know that we have to transport the stuff from slaughter house to supermarket, but still do we really need to pack 10% other crap in there as well?

The 74% stuff was for a 1kg bag. That means that on 740g of that bag is actually meat. That’s like a bar of chocolate that is not actually meat? WTF? Don’t we deserve better or shouldn’t we demand higher values of meat?

Anyway, back to pancakes, bacon and peanut butter. It’s a actually quite a tasty mix of things. It’s strange at first, you don’t really think it will all go, but yet it does. The bacon and peanut works really well. I think it’s the fats and oils of the two working together for the goodness of taste. They understand each other and it’s an explosion in your mouth of utter awesomeness. The pancake then just follows it up perfectly. Part of me wishes I’d made more; then again I finished all mine and didn’t feel sick (a good thing i think).

Try it next time you make pancakes – add the bacon and peanut butter and you’ll be pleasantly surprised.

~ by monkeypushovertree on February 25, 2009.

3 Responses to “fools:gold”

  1. I am the same …. can’t stand peanut butter.

    It would have to be vegemite for me instead of that other stuff 🙂

  2. I hope you bought the 1kg bag and ate the free chocolate bar!!

    In other news, all this talk of bacon has me thinking about nipples.

  3. ah well, at billy’s new year thingy we had bacon with nipples still attached!

Leave a Reply

 
