drop

drop, originally uploaded by monkey_pushover_tree.

It’s been a while since I’ve pulled out the strobes for just for fun. I had them out for an office headshot thing. That was straight forward stuff. Plug in values and off you go. This stuff is more of the reason why I got them in the first place. This is when you’ve got to balance against the background and light what you want with the flash. I love taking shots like this, I get such a thrill of seeing the results and wish I could do this more often.

Plus it was a chance to get the 5D mk II out put it through it’s paces. Have to say this is one of the best purchases I have made in a long time! The quality is awesome, and having full frame just rocks. Some of the 24mm shots just remind me why I wanted that lens in the first place. The instant feedback from the LCD helps with the strobist setup. You know for sure that it looks good. Having the large viewfinder also makes this a lot easier now than previously. When the bikes are moving past you quickly, being able to see so much at one go meant more shots were keepers.

For example at the downhill course at Ourimbah, you only have a second or two to focus and get a few shots off. Then that’s it. You have to wait for the next rider etc. The full frame and the feedback from the LCD makes this easy as.

More shots of the day can be found here

Now, all I need to do is find more riders that want their photos taken etc!

~ by monkeypushovertree on March 2, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
