picking:up:some:dust

Apollo 11 landing siteAs promised by NASA, the LRO provides us it’s first shots of the Apollo landing sites.  Remember these are not at full resolution yet, but still these images make me tingle.  The Apollo 14 images are something else.  You can see the footprints left from the moon walks.  How can you not get excited or welled up by these images.  To me, these are some of the most amazing images I have ever seen.

Apollo 14 landing site

Apollo 14 landing site

Oh, why “picking up some dust” as the title; it’s from the Apollo 11 landing.  “Down two and a half” is my other favourite bit from the landing.  I don’t know why these two phrases make me smile, they just do.  I’m hoping they are going to turn up in one of the following twitter conversations:

AP11_SPACECRAFT, AP11_EAGLE and AP11_CAPCOM

I love that we are using twitter to do this in real time for the anniversary (the best use of twitter to date I think).

~ by monkeypushovertree on July 18, 2009.

2 Responses to “picking:up:some:dust”

  1. I love this shot Tim – http://www.nasa.gov/images/content/369227main_aldrinLM_full.jpg

    Can’t help feeling it looks like something my 7 yo nephews have built using cardboard, sticky back plastic, silver foil and instructions from Blue Peter. The reality must have been something quite different.

  2. Yeah that one is also truly awesome; I know what you mean about it looking like a Blue Peter model though. There are places in it that it’s only a few sheets of foil think, so maybe blue peter is the correct explanation for it 😀

Leave a Reply

 
