door:zone

Following from the some of the items I mentioned in the bike:vs:car post, here is an example video of what happens when you include the parking area within the bike lane and what I as a cyclist is trying to avoid and why sometimes I cycle where I do.

This distance needs to be taken into account when you are designing these shared areas.

~ by monkeypushovertree on September 16, 2009.

2 Responses to “door:zone”

  1. Hmmm… I would offer something like this http://nadezhdakn.wordpress.com/files/2009/09/untitled.jpg (I juat drew a scheme) if I were asked.

  2. Yep, I posted a photo about car doors from an ad on the back of a bus and got an instant hostile response, so much so that I have found myself arguing for some sanity. It is a very sad state of affairs. Though recently I have found an improvement of attitude.

Leave a Reply

 
