respect to…

the food bloggers.

Yes, the food bloggers.  It’s harder than it looks to eat food, take some dam good photos and then write about the session that you’ve just had.  Some may see it as a form of gluttony and pleasure all combined into one that anyone could do.  But I’ve seen them work at it, it’s not as easy as it looks.  By chance, I ran into a couple of my food blogger friends earlier this week after visiting the Chophouse in Sydney CBD.  It was following this blog post by A Table For Two’s Billy that convinced me that should make a visit.  An opportunity came up so we headed down there.  The food is magnificent.   It’s one of the few places I’ve been to where everything about the Chops and Meat you are eating is there right in front to you.  All the way from the days it’s been fed to its Marble score.  I ended up getting Dark Al Marinated Wagyu Flank for mains with Chocolate Tart for desserts.  There was also their signature Swiss Milk Chocolate block, which is a delight to be shared. All of this would make me head back there again.  The food is amazingly good; meat that melts like butter, sides with great flavours and desserts to die for.

And that’s why I’m not a food blogger.  I just don’t have the descriptive means that would do this food justice.  I also don’t think I could eat all the time like these guys seem to do.  And that’s the incredible thing about these guys.  They are passionate about their food and spreading that passion to those that want to know.  The industry is also beginning to notice this a lot more and taking note as to what these guys are saying.  So back to these guys that I meet while I was at the Chophouse.  They had been invited by Chophouse to experience a Pig and Pinot dinner.  That slow roasted suckling pig carved by David Clarke, Executive Chef, at their table.  The sight alone caused a stir within the restaurant, followed by the series of flashes going off everyone knew this was a major event.  Luckily for me, my friends: A table for two; Grab Your Fork; chocolatesuze and here comes the food where present at this event.  Thanks to those guys I got to experience the delights of this suckling pig (thank you to whoever sent over the plate!).  Have to say, it was some of the best I’ve had in a long time.  The crackling was perfect, crunchy full of flavour with not too much fat.  It reminded me of the spit roasted pig that I’ve eaten in Germany but nowhere near the fatty taste you can have.  The meat was tender and juicy just thinking about it again makes my mouth water.  Now these guys got to experience the whole lot more and I highly recommend that you read their posts of the event to see it in full detail.

As for watching them work.  Whilst it appears that they are all eating, they are listening, asking questions, making notes.  Watching between the conversations and laughter, there is the quick pull out of a iPhone and tap of note about some item they have just eaten or drunk.  It’s amazing with all that food they consume they are able to polish together such articles, enticing the reader to head to that restaurant and experience the same.  They may say it’s easy, but it appears not to this outsider.  Whilst I’m lucky I’m able to enjoy watching these guys and occasionally join in with them, I think that’s maybe as far as I would get with my food blog.

So kudos and respect to these guys, they know what they are doing and you should listen/read them.

oh and proof I’m no Photo blogger:

~ by monkeypushovertree on August 19, 2010.

5 Responses to “respect to…”

  1. Aww… I reckon you did a pretty good job at describing the succulence of that amazing roast suckling pig. We must’ve made quite a sight, particularly when that pig was first wheeled out. You don’t often think about what you look like when you’re working/enjoying yourself. Thanks for the very sweet post 🙂

  2. Cheers Helen! I was quite something when it came out that’s for sure. Thanks for letting me join in with it too!

  3. I agree! I love to eat and occasionally take a photo but I’m terrible with words. Blogging, especially food blogging, is an art.

  4. You have to be patient, I keep on seeing the food, diving in and then thinking after, mmm, should have taken a photo before I ate it. And in particular Helen takes great notes. I don’t have the dedication like that. I think, blast, can’t remember what that was called or the address of the place, or even sometimes the name of the place… I have a memory like a sive and keep no notes. So I just end up saying had some food, here are some photos.

  5. I like that idea – had some food here are some photos!

Leave a Reply

 
